Sly & Family Stone Box Set

It was announced last summer that Sly & The family Stone were going to release a box set on Sony/Legacy.  Well, news come in that it is set for release on August 27th.  It will be called “Higher!” and will have 77 tracks on it including 17 previously unreleased songs!

If you are a fan, this is awesome news!  Inside there will be a 104 page liner book with comments on the group’s songs by the original members as well as the managers and others who have been close to the band.

This is a great inside look into everything they did from different perspectives!  There will also be some rare mono single mixes for the purists out there, plus one of the band’s 45’s will be inside.

Disc three of this set will have four tracks recorded live at Britain’s Isle Of Wight Festival from August 1970 including the first ever release of “Dance To The Music” and the medley of “Music Lover/I Want To Take You Higher/Music Lover”.   Are you ready for all of this?  I am!

Higher! by Sly & The Family Stone
Disc One (1964-1967):

  1. I Just Learned How To Swim by Sly Stewart ( Autumn Records single, 1964)
  2. Scat Swim by Sly Stewart (Autumn single, 1964)
  3. Buttermilk (Part 1) by Sly (Autumn single, 1965)
  4. Dance All Night by Sly and Freddie (1965, originally unissued)
  5. Temptation Walk by Sly (Autumn single, 1965)
  6. I Ain’t Got Nobody (For Real) (Loadstone single, 1967)
  7. I Can’t Turn You Loose (Loadstone single, 1967)
  8. Higher (mono Epic single master, promo only, 1967)
  9. Underdog (mono Epic single master, 1967)
  10. Bad Risk (mono Epic single master, 1967)
  11. Let Me Hear It From You (mono Epic single master, 1967)
  12. Advice (A)
  13. If This Room Could Talk (A)
  14. I Cannot Make It (A)
  15. Trip To Your Heart (A)
  16. I Hate To Love Her (A)
  17. Silent Communications (1967, previously unissued)
  18. I Get High On You (version one, 1967, previously unissued)
  19. I Remember (1967, previously unissued)
  20. My Woman’s Head (instrumental demo, 1967, previously unissued)

Disc Two (1967-1968):

  1. What’s That Got To Do With Me (1967, previously unissued)
  2. Fortune And Fame (1967, previously unissued)
  3. What Would I Do (1967, originally unissued, B)
  4. Only One Way Out Of This Mess (1967, originally unissued, B)
  5. I Know What You Came To Say (1967, previously unissued)
  6. Dance To The Music (mono Epic single master, 1967)
  7. Ride The Rhythm (C)
  8. Color Me True (C)
  9. Are You Ready (C)
  10. Don’t Burn Baby (C)
  11. We Love All (D)
  12. Danse A La Musique by The French Fries (mono Epic single, 1968)
  13. Small Fries by The French Fries (mono Epic single, 1968)
  14. Chicken (mono Epic single master, 1968)
  15. Into My Own Thing (E)
  16. Life (mono Epic single master, 1968)
  17. Love City (1968, previously unissued mono mix)
  18. M’Lady (mono Epic single master, 1968)
  19. Dynamite! featuring Johnny Robinson on vocals (1968, previously unissued)
  20. Undercat (instrumental, 1967, previously unissued)

Disc Three (1968-1970):

  1. Everyday People (mono Epic single master, 1968)
  2. Sing A Simple Song (mono Epic single master, 1968)
  3. I Get High On You (version two, 1968, previously unissued)
  4. Wonderful World Of Color (instrumental, 1968, previously unissued)
  5. Pressure (originally unissued, F)
  6. I Want To Take You Higher (mono Epic single master, 1969)
  7. Seven More Days (originally unissued, F)
  8. Feathers (instrumental, 1968, previously unissued)
  9. Somebody’s Watching You (G)
  10. Sex Machine (G)
  11. Hot Fun In The Summertime (mono Epic single master, 1969)
  12. Everybody Is A Star (mono Epic single master, 1969)
  13. Thank You (Falettinme Be Mice Elf Agin) (mono Epic single master, 1969)
  14. Stand! (LIVE at the Isle of Wight Festival, August 30, 1970, H)
  15. You Can Make It If You Try (LIVE, same as track 14, H)
  16. Dance To The Music (LIVE, same as track 14, previously unissued)
  17. MEDLEY: Music Lover / I Want To Take You Higher / Music Lover  (LIVE, same as track 14, previously unissued)

Disc Four (1971-1977):

  1. Luv N’ Haight (Epic single master, 1971)
  2. Family Affair (I)
  3. Brave & Strong (Epic single master, 1971)
  4. Runnin’ Away (Epic single master, 1971)
  5. (You Caught Me) Smilin’ (Epic single master, 1971)
  6. Spaced Cowboy (I)
  7. You’re The One featuring Little Sister (LIVE on Don Kirshner ‘s Rock Concert, September 1973, previously unissued)
  8. In Time (J)
  9. If You Want Me To Stay (Epic single master, 1973)
  10. Frisky (Epic single master, 1973)
  11. Skin I’m In (J)
  12. If It Were Left Up To Me (Epic single master, 1973)
  13. Time For Livin’ (Epic single master, 1974)
  14. Can’t Strain My Brain (Epic single master, 1974)
  15. Loose Booty (K)
  16. Le Lo Li (Epic single master, 1975)
  17. Crossword Puzzle (Epic single master, 1975)
  18. Family Again (Epic single, 1976)
  19. Hoboken by Sly Stone (originally unissued, 1975-1977)
  20. High by Sly Stone (1975, previously unissued)

Epic Records album index:
A – from A Whole New Thing (originally released November 1967, as Epic LN 24324, mono)
B – from A Whole New Thing (Expanded Edition) (originally released April 2007, as Epic/ Legacy 82796 90277 2)
C – from Dance To The Music (originally released April 1968, as Epic BN 26371)
D – from Dance To The Music (Expanded Edition) (originally released April 2007, as Epic/Legacy 82796 90274 2)
E – from Life (originally released November 1968, as Epic BN 26397)
F – from Life (Expanded Edition) (originally rel. April 2007, as Epic/Legacy 82876 83945 2)
G – from Stand! (originally released April 1969, as Epic BN 26456)
H – from The First Great Rock Festivals Of The Seventies (originally released August 1971, as Columbia C 30807)
I – from There’s A Riot Goin’ On (originally released October 1971, as Epic KE 30986)
J – from Fresh (originally released June 1973, as Epic KE 32134)
K – from Small Talk (originally released July 1974, as Epic PE 32930)

SOURCE Legacy Recordings

More from Charlie Huero

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Listen Live