May 1968, the Fab 4 start work on their classic “The Beatles” record better know as the “White Album”.  They had been writing songs during their trip to India earlier in the year, and now they being the work for what some people called the greats album of all time!

They had a lot of material, enough to make their first double album.  The recordings started at 2:30pm, May 30th, 1968 at the EMI studios on Abbey Road in London.  All of the Beatles were there including john Lennon’s new girlfriend Yoko Ono.

The recording sessions had their ups and downs including Ringo leaving the band!  After a couple of weeks and some pleading from his partners in the band, he did come back.  Here is a list of the tracks.


Side one
No. Title Lead vocals Length
1. Back in the U.S.S.R. McCartney 2:43
2. Dear Prudence Lennon 3:56
3. Glass Onion Lennon 2:17
4. Ob-La-Di, Ob-La-Da McCartney 3:08
5. Wild Honey Pie McCartney 0:52
6. The Continuing Story of Bungalow Bill Lennon 3:14
7. While My Guitar Gently Weeps” (George Harrison) Harrison 4:45
8. Happiness Is a Warm Gun Lennon 2:43
Side two
No. Title Lead vocals Length
1. Martha My Dear McCartney 2:28
2. I’m So Tired Lennon 2:03
3. Blackbird McCartney 2:18
4. Piggies” (Harrison) Harrison 2:04
5. Rocky Raccoon McCartney 3:33
6. Don’t Pass Me By” (Richard Starkey) Starr 3:51
7. Why Don’t We Do It in the Road? McCartney 1:41
8. I Will McCartney 1:46
9. Julia Lennon 2:54
Side three
No. Title Lead vocals Length
1. Birthday McCartney and Lennon 2:42
2. Yer Blues Lennon 4:01
3. Mother Nature’s Son McCartney 2:48
4. Everybody’s Got Something to Hide Except Me and My Monkey Lennon 2:24
5. Sexy Sadie Lennon 3:15
6. Helter Skelter McCartney 4:29
7. Long, Long, Long” (Harrison) Harrison 3:04
Side four
No. Title Lead vocals Length
1. Revolution 1 Lennon 4:15
2. Honey Pie McCartney 2:41
3. Savoy Truffle” (Harrison) Harrison 2:54
4. Cry Baby Cry Lennon, with McCartney 3:02
5. Revolution 9 Speaking from Lennon, Harrison, George Martin and Yoko Ono 8:22
6. Good Night

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Listen Live