It was a KOOL night at Wild Horse Pass Hotel & Casino with Huey Lewis and the News!  In celebration of the 30th anniversary album ‘Sports’ Huey sang the entire album. The album that some say helped the band “come into their own” artisticly and commerically.


“My name is Huey Lewis and you just made the news.”

Huey Lewis and the News - Wild Horse Pass Hotel and Casino (8)

If you didn’t know the songs on the ‘Sports’ album:

  • Heart of Rock & Roll
  • Heart And Soul
  • Bad Is Bad
  • I Want a New Drug
  • Walk on a thin line
  • Finally Found a Home
  • If This Is It
  • You Crack Me Up
  • Honky Tonk Blues

“That of course, was the Sports album. 43 minutes of pure heaven.” – Huey Lewis, 2013 Wild Horse Pass Hotel & Casino

Huey Lewis and the News - Wild Horse Pass Hotel and Casino (9)

And this might have been about celebrating 30 years since the release of ‘Sports’ however that didn’t stopped Huey and the gang from contining the party with a second set of great music sounding just perfect in front of a sold out crowd. Including a special treat of a new currently unreleased song, ‘While We’re Young’.

2nd set:

  • While We’re Young
  • Trouble In Paradise
  • Some Kind Of Wonderful (This had everyone on their feet!)
  • It’s All Right
  • We’re Not Here For A Long Time

Huey Lewis and the News - Wild Horse Pass Hotel and Casino (29)

And a night with Huey Lewis and the News would not complete without a quick trip ‘Back to the Future’ and rounding out the night feeling like you’ve had your own personal time traveling DeLorean.


  • The Power of Love (27 years ago!)
  • Do You Believe in Love
  • Workin For A Living

Huey Lewis and The News’ 1983 ‘Sports’ album spawned four Top 10 hit singles (and another that cracked the Top 20), iconic music videos and sold almost 10 million copies. To celebrate the blockbuster album’s 30th anniversary, Lewis has personally overseen an expanded commemorative edition to be released May 14th by Capitol/UMe. Digitally remastered for CD and standard and high definition digital audio, ‘Sports (30th Anniversary Edition)’ pairs each of the original album’s nine songs with choice live versions on a second disc, many of which have never before been released. The special edition includes an expanded booklet with photos and memorabilia from the band’s archive and new liner notes by music journalist and author Gary Graff.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Listen Live