Forty-years ago, Neil Diamond took the stage at the Greek Theater in Los Angeles and became a legend. Now he’s re-releasing Hot August Night, the album that came from his 10-night run at the venue. In honor of the milestone he’s even added a few extra songs.

This reissue, due out July 31, will include Neil’s signature hits like “Cherry Cherry” and “Sweet Caroline,” which he performed throughout his 10-day run in 1972. The two-disc set will also include three unreleased songs: “A Modern Day Version of Love,” “Gitchy Goomy” and “I Think It’s Going To Rain Today,” written by Randy Newman.

For those who wished they could have seen the original shows, the album even unearthed the stage banter and band introductions from the archives for this deluxe edition.

Luckily fans can still see Diamond in the flesh on his current tour, which finishes up in Las Vegas on September 1. The showman will even headline three shows at the Greek Theater where it all began on none other than a few hot August nights. Go to Diamond’s website for more information.

Check out the tracklist for Hot August Night 40th Anniversary Deluxe Edition below.

Disc 1

1. Prologue

2. Crunchy Granola Suite

3. Done Too Soon

4. Dialogue

5. Solitary Man

6. Cherry Cherry

7. Sweet Caroline

8. Porcupine Pie

9. You’re So Sweet

10. Red Red Wine

11. Soggy Pretzels

12. Gitchy Goomy*

13. And The Grass Won’t Pay No Mind

14. I Think It’s Going To Rain Today*

15. Shilo

16. Modern Day Version Of Love*

17. Girl You’ll Be A Woman Soon

18. Walk On Water

19. Kentucky Woman

20. Stones

21. Musician Intros*

Disc 2

1. Play Me

2. Canta Libre

3. Morningside

4. Song Sung Blue

5. Cracklin’ Rosie

6. Holly Holy

7. I Am…I Said

8. Soolaimon/Brother Love’s Travelling Salvation Show

* previously unreleased songs 

– Shannon Carlin, CBS Local


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Listen Live