Red Hot Chili Peppers announced today that a collection of unreleased tracks from the I’m With You sessions will be seeing the light of day later this summer. Eighteen songs will be released in pairs over a span of months from August through the beginning of 2013, and will be available as both digital download and on vinyl.

“Finding songs that seem to want to join hands with others is a special task that require the right people… and the right songs!” said guitarist Josh Klinghoffer.

Klinghoffer also explains why some tracks did not make the album tracklist:

“Some songs seem to have a lot more of an agenda than others. Some songs play well with others and some songs need more attention and a little extra care. Here are some songs that seemed to want to pair up and take a later train. Keep your eye on them, they’re up to something…”

The first two tracks to “take a later train,” “Strange Man” and “Long Progression,” are due to be released
on August 14, with September 11, October 2, November 6, December 4 and December 18 also confirmed for subsequent releases.

Meanwhile, Red Hot Chili Peppers are tearing up the road on their world tour through November and I’m With You is out now.

— Nee-Sa Lossing, CBS Local


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Listen Live